Spiritual goals and writing.

There is a period of time in your life when you figured that you have done all you can. You evaluate your plans but there is a nagging feeling that maybe there is this one item that is missing. At that point in my life, I was off to university and for certainty I knew something was missing. I think I came face-to-face with this reality a few months after leaving home, while living in the dormitory.

I was having a wonderful experience living among persons who came from different cultures at the university; exposed to various ideas, language and a genuine concern for the well-being of each other. But somehow I looked at life, looked at my plans on how to achieve my various dreams, for instance, but I begun to become somewhat distracted by problems in the world. I started to wonder what was going wrong, why try being better in a world that was getting worse. I will look on the television or daily newspapers and be bombarded by challenges and difficulties this human race experience. I also started to wonder why I had this opportunity to further my education, when persons in various countries do not have sufficient to eat. This really bothers me. At that point of time in my life I asked the question, what is the purpose of life?

At this point of time I acknowledged that I needed all the help I could get. So I turned my attention to a higher power. Based on the home that I grew up in, there were always some type of religious activity is that we engaged. And the so against this backdrop I began to pray more and study religious books. Now you may be wondering what this has to do with journaling or exploring one’s thoughts through the process of writing. But remembered thus far the plan that I had placed as journal entries did not include any direct form of religiosity. While they are some persons, and rightly so, can choose whether or not to be religious or even spiritual, because of my previous encounters with this type of life it was meaningful for me. How journaling my thoughts or seeking answers through writing worked here, was that as I obtained spiritual reading materials, I started to make notes in the various margins of the books. At the onset I must admit that I did not fully understand where this would have taken me. But because of being loyal to the process of writing and journaling my dreams, thoughts, learning, understandings or revelations, I continued. Surprisingly, but then again I should not have been overly surprised by what began to happen within a couple months of diligently studying these various religious materials, I started to have a clearer sense of what was going on the world.

Coming out from this practice I started back then, to this day continued to study religious materials as a means to have balance, as well as a deeper understanding of my position in the world, in relation to things happening around me.

I started also using a type of journaling as a means to understand my thinking through prose, musing, or poetry. This too has helped me make sense of situations which continue to present themselves each day in the form of stressors. When I engage in this type of writing for a period of time each week, it allows me to escape in a world, to mentally explore my experiences and to find creative ways of coping or finding solutions.

Author: Allick Delancy

WE ALL HAVE THE POTENTIAL TO DO GREAT THINGS IN LIFE! The areas of education, psychology, motivation, behavioural coaching, management of stress, anger and conflict, has always interested Allick Delancy. For this reason, over the years he has conducted research in these fields and has experienced great success in writing, lecturing and assisting other persons to develop their fullest potentials. He has obtained a Bachelors of Science in Behavioural Sciences with an emphasis in Psychology and Sociology. Allick Delancy also earned a Masters of Arts degree in Educational Psychology, with general emphasis in Learning, Development, Testing and Research from Andrews University. He has worked in the field of community mediation, education--conducting life skills training (for students, teachers and parents), as well as conducting Functional Behavioural Assessments and developing Functional Behavioural Plans. He also lectures at the Bachelors degree level in Early Childhood and Family Studies, Leadership and Management and co-wrote an undergraduate course in social work.

Leave a Reply

